USA Whitewater Slalom

Meritorious Service Award Winners

courtesy of Chuck Hines

    The Meritorious Service Award recognizes Volunteers in our sport who contributed a lot over a period of 10 or more years.  About two to three volunteers were chosen each year from the late 1970's to the late 1990's. Thus the list below includes a total of 50+.  Those previously chosen received a small 20" canoe paddle with an engraved plate.  The selection process stopped around 1998 - and has not been renewed until now.

    USA Whitewater Slalom will present the Meritorious Service Award, for ten or more years of outstanding service, at the US National Championships, on August 28th at the Kern River, Miracle Hot Springs in Bakersfield, California.  Meritorious Service Award Nominations are being accepted through May 31, 2005 and should include a description of the individual's work within the sport of whitewater slalom. Please send nominations to Hannah Larsen.


    Here are the Meritorious Service Award recipients from the late 1970's to the late 1990's. The first to be named were Susan Chamberlin, John Connet, Bill Endicott, Dave Kurtz, and Jim Raleigh.  These five volunteers were followed by:

Karen Baldzer  Gordon Bare Maggie Biggerstaff
Jim Brown   JoEllen Dickey   Abbie Endicott
Jay Evans Pat Fahey Ken Fisher
Kent Ford  Chuck Gerring Don Giddens
Maylon Hanold Cathy Hearn Jennifer Hearn
Chuck Hines Mike Hipsher  Tim Kelly
Lori Jacob David Jones   Karen Mark
Caroline Klam    Mike Larimer Ray McLain
Tom McEwan Barb McKee Jon Nelson
Dave Mitchell Peggy Mitchell  Marilyn Russell
Chris Osment    Dick Pilsner  Kurt Schubring
Wayne Russell  Steve Parsons Eleanor Sorensen
Bob Schutzler  Mike Sloan   Karl Stevens
Don Sorensen    Sherry Spurlin   John Sweet
Ken Stone  Jim Stuart  Bob Weller
Steve Thomas  Jim Urner    
Nancy Wiley  Walt Witucki  

CONCLUDING NOTE -- Congrats to www.daveyhearn.com for

one year of service to the paddling community! 

~ Thank you, Chuck ; )

Copyright Maximum Whitewater Performance 2005

This website and all content within are property of MWP unless otherwise noted
 Questions regarding this website
contact us

Last updated: January 18, 2006

www.daveyhearn.com HOME